The Power of Protein

7 Apr

I am a huge fan of a protein-rich diet.

0804HEALTHbreakfast

1. Protein is filling…It will keep you full for longer and unlike carbs, does not cause your blood sugar to yo-yo.

2. There is so much you can do with protein which makes it easy to incorporate into every meal.

3. If you are a vegetarian there are still so many ways to keep your diet high-protein.

4. Protein works with your muscles to ensure you are burning a max. amount of calories possible during your daily activities, and will aid you in building muscle at the gym.

5. For the most part, protein dates back to the cave-man days. Natural, unprocessed, and healthy.

getty_rm_photo_of_high_protein_foods

Here are a few ideas to help you incorporate protein into every meal of your day!

Breakfast

So easy. Eggs are a great place to start. I usually eat two eggs and 1 egg white. A lot of people ONLY eat egg whites…but think about it. Where is the protein in an egg? The yolk! Yes, it is higher in fat, but that is good fat and benefits your hair, nails, and skin. So eat the yolks, in moderation!

Turkey bacon. One of my faves. Grill it up and eat it as a side with some eggs.

Greek yogurt is high in protein and can be eaten with some fruit and topped with a superfood – think chia seeds, flax seeds, or hulled hemp hearts. Yogurt can also be added to any smoothie. Beware though…any flavoured yogurt is bound to be high in sugar. Read the nutritional information before buying and check the sugar content. Most flavoured yogurts have 15g of sugar per serving!! Its better to top your plain yogurt with fruit to sweeten it up.

Protein powder is an easy way to get an adequate amount of protein in a smoothie. I prefer pure whey powder from Isagenix or pea-protein powder from Vega.

Almond butter…which may start ruining my life! I could eat it all day straight from the jar! But moderation is key because of the natural fats and oil. Add a tablespoon to a smoothie or spread it on some toast and top with banana. Delicious!

Lunch

I usually think meat at lunch. Chicken, salmon, tuna, turkey…But I also love chick peas, kidney beans, lentils…you name it, I will put it in a salad. I am also a fan of grilled tofu (freak of nature?).

One of my newer regular eats is quinoa. Higher in protein than rice and full of fiber, it can be eaten in salads, as a side dish, or as a base for a stir-fry or bowl. It is still a carb but if eaten with protein it makes for a balanced meal. Tip: when cooking quinoa, I usually use low-sodium chicken or vegetable stock to give it a little flavour.

Snacks

Any of the above mentioned proteins can be eaten in smaller portions as snacks. Think almond butter on apple slices, a few slices of turkey bacon, chick-pea salad, quinoa salad, a hard-boiled egg, and the list goes on and on.

If I am out on the road and am looking to buy a snack I can usually find beef jerky pretty easily. Just remember to eat veggies with your protein to keep it balanced.

Another one of my favourites is avocado. Again, eaten in moderation because it is high in fat, it can be added to salad or eaten on its own. It can also be spread on half an English muffin and topped with tomato. There is lots you can do with this yummy green superfood!

Nuts and seeds are also great and can be packed in your purse for when you are on the run! I love a handful of almonds with a few dried apricots.

Dinner

The average person probably already eats enough protein with their dinner. The typical American meal is a piece of meat with potatoes and veggies right? That works well for dinner. There are also a ton of unique and yummy recipes you can google to spice up your chicken, beef, or steak. I mix up dinners between stir-frys, turkey burgers, turkey chili, salads….

Hopefully this gives you a little insight on the benefits of protein and how to incorporate it into each of your meals. I will be posting recipes in the near future and you can bet they will be high in protein!

3 Responses to “The Power of Protein”

  1. fattorina April 7, 2013 at 1:35 PM #

    Thanks for this. I’m trying to get more protein in my diet. I’m a bit of a bread fiend so I’m trying to move away from that.

    • Shanna May 14, 2017 at 1:58 PM #

      Me alegra enormemente que no hayáis usado ese “A la mierda”, me produce tristeza que de este hombre tan importante la gente se quede con es23v8o&0;sal#ando las distancias, me recuerda a Fernando Fernán Gómez.Yo le despedí con un “ala maño pues” 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Favourite Thing Friday #13: Quinoa Flakes | Sweet Child In The City - May 16, 2014

    […] Have you ever tried quinoa flakes? Thanks to my sweet, gluten-intolerant friend who introduce them to me, they are my new favourite breakfast food! You already know quinoa is healthy grain packed with protein. Quinoa flakes are a gluten-free alternative to oats, lower in calories, and have 5g of protein per serving. (For more info. on the power of protein, check out my post here). […]

Leave a Reply

