Nailed It

17 Dec

I am a medium maintenance girl. Not too high, but definitely by no means a low maintenance girl. But when it comes to nails, I skip the salon and go the DIY route. My Sunday night ritual involves me on the couch, watching my fave TV shows from the week, and doing my nails. I prefer to do my nails before bed as they can dry overnight, and then I usually just touch them up in the AM.

I own about 363950 bottles of nail polish. I can’t leave a salon or drug store without a new bottle. I would also never cheat on my three go-to brands – OPI, Essie, & Butter London.

Here are a few of my faves, by season of course.

Winter

My fave shades for this time of year are holiday reds, deep plums, and light sparkles in gold or silver.

OPI – Lincoln Park After Dark

OPI – Danke Shiny Red

OPI – Glitzerland

Essie – Nothing Else Metals

Spring

In spring, I usually do light pinks and purples on my fingers, and something a little brighter on my toes.

Butter London – Fruit Machine

OPI – Too Hot Pink to Hold ‘Em

Essie – Splash of Grenadine

Essie – Muchi Muchi

Butter London – Molly-Coddled

Summer

I love bright colours in summer! Essie’s Punchy Pink is usually my go-to.

Essie – Punchy Pink

Butter London Spring 2012 Swatches - Slapper Teal Aqua Creme Nail Polish

Butter London – Slapper

Essie – Watermelon

My favourite summer collection was from Essie this year, mostly for Naughty Nautical..

Essie – Naughty Nautical Collection – Summer 2013

Fall

Fall is all over the place for me depending on the weather. I usually start out with some light pinks, and move towards darker plums. My favourite fall colour is Bahama Mama by Essie.

Butter London – Snog

Essie, Essie Angora Cardi, Essie Nail Polish, Essie Angora Cardi Nail Polish, nail, nails, nail polish, polish, lacquer, nail lacquer, mani, manicure, Mani of the Week

Essie – Angora Cardi

Essie – Demure Vixen

Essie – Bahama Mama

The best thing about doing your own nails…you can switch up your colour whenever you get bored! I love mixing it up too….try painting one finger in something different. My rule of thumb though, is always go brighter or darker on your toes. Toes just don’t look as good in light colours.

1380391_674646846740_682878099_n

I will leave you with my favourite colour of all-time. I wear it on my toes almost exclusively in the summer. It’s a gorgeous neon pink by Illamasqua called “collide”…available at Sephora!

Illamasqua – Collide

One Response to “Nailed It”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Summer Essentials | Sweet Child In The City - March 26, 2014

    […] I love Essie Marshmellow for summer. White nails against a good tan is faboosh. Check out my other fave nail colours here! […]

Leave a Reply

