New Years Resolutions

29 Dec

New Years Resolutions to me in the past have been nothing more than a list that gathers dust come Jan. 2nd. This year, I vow to make my resolutions a part of my life. I don’t have specific sources or values, but it is said that the majority of wealthy people have short-term goals they regularly work towards in all aspects of their life, whereas un-wealthy people do not. Wealthy people also regularly use to-do lists; much fewer un-wealthy people do not. I truly believe that goal setting should be incorporated into your professional and personal life. When you have something to work towards you are more likely to be successful, right?

Lululemon is an example of aΒ very goal-oriented organization. They regularly perform goal-setting meetings with their employees and provide the tools for consumers on their website here. If you are new to goal-setting, I recommend you take a look at their worksheet. This is their company manifesto (below). If you have shopped at Lululemon before, I’m sure you have seen it but not realized its meaning!

Here are my 13 New Years Resolutions for 2014:

1. I will stick to my New Years Resolutions and review them monthly to re-fresh and stay motivated to succeed.

2. I will go to the gym 4 times per week. Once of these workouts will be a hot yoga class.

3. I will plan my meals each Sunday for the week.

4. I will take a homemade lunch to work 4 days per week.

5. I will not eat pizza after a night on the town with friends!

6. I will save 10% more per month than I already am, and put it aside for a trip overseas in 2015.

7. I will be more open to new relationships.

8. I will take a course in the fall of 2014 to further my education. Course yet TBD.

9. I will drink more H2O!

10. I will resist the urge to shopΒ “just for fun”.

11. When possible (weather permitting) I will take my workout outdoors.

12. I will take setbacks in any aspect of my life in stride, and remember that success is determined by how you handle adversity.

13. I will become a volunteer with the Big Sisters of Toronto program by the fall of 2014.

 

Now that you all know my NYR’s, maybe you can help me stick to them? What are some of your resolutions?

Leave a Reply

