Greek Yogurt Pancakes

12 Jan

I looooooove pancakes. I could eat them morning, noon, and night – all day everyday. And sometimes I do.

I also reallllllllly love syrup. Syrup with a little bit of pancake.

Since there are no real healthy alternatives for syrup (fruit just isn’t the same), I needed to find a healthier alternative for pancakes themselves before I hit 300 lbs. Aunt Jemima goes straight to you know where.

Turns out greek yogurt makes great pancakes. Who woulda thought, right! I found this recipe on Pinterest via Everyday Belle. All hail!!

Greek Yogurt Pancakes

Ingredients
  • 6 oz of Greek Yogurt (I use plain if I am adding fruit or chocolate chips, and flavoured if not)
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
Instructions
  1. Stir yogurt until smooth and creamy. Crack an egg over the yogurt and stir.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour and baking soda.
  3. Pour yogurt/egg mixture into the bowl with the flour and baking soda. Stir to combine. The batter will be extremely thick.
  4. Spoon the batter onto a sprayed griddle or pan heated to medium-high.
  5. Flip the pancakes when they start to bubble a bit on the surface. Cook until golden brown on both sides.
 This recipe usually makes 3-4 medium sized pancakes. They will be extremely thick – this is normal!
Enjoy 🙂
2 Responses to “Greek Yogurt Pancakes”

  1. C Ellis January 12, 2014 at 3:48 PM #

    Amazing post Er, you should look into Agave Syrup, plus they have different flavours – o much healthier than regular corn syrup! xoxo

    • erika January 12, 2014 at 3:54 PM #

      I’ve tried it…just not the same as my beloved maple syrup! Some concessions I am just not willing to make! haha…thanks for the tip though! xo

Leave a Reply

