My Take on an Ice Cream Sundae

13 Jan

I know I’m not inventing anything new here, but I wanted to let you in on my fave late night sweet treat. It’s my go-to when I want something sweet and filling, without feeling too guilty about it.

It’s my take on an ice cream sundae, minus the ice cream! It’s all about pulling the quarterback and subbing in the guy on the bench – greek yogurt.

I always buy low-fat PLAIN greek yogurt (if it’s not plain I guarantee it is loaded with sugar) and put about 6oz. in a bowl. Then I add my own toppings depending on what I feel like, and drizzle with a little honey or agave. Yum!

My favourite concoctions for a Greek Yogurt Sundae:

  • Mash 1/2 a banana and add some chocolate chips
  • Slice up some strawberries and 1/2 a banana, and add a few walnuts
  • Mix 1 tbsp. all-natural peanut butter and a few chocolate chips
  • Low-key…just chocolate chips and sprinkles

So next time you reach for some Ben & Jerry’s at 11:30pm, have my take on an ice cream sundae instead! Some protein and healthy fats, with a bit of sweetness. Just remember – moderation is key 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

