Washing Your Makeup Brushes

13 Jan

I cannot stress enough the importance of washing your makeup brushes. It amazes me how many girls I talk to that don’t do it! Just thinking about not washing them at least once a week makes me cringe.

Sunday is always my organization day to get ready for the week. I wash my towels and bedding, clean-up, get groceries for the week, and wash my makeup brushes. I regularly use a large powder brush, blush brush, eye shadow brushes, concealer brush, and beauty blender; and always wash them once a week. Over time and with use, your brushes acquire a build up of makeup, oil, dirt, and even bacteria and you don’t want to be putting that back on your face!

To wash your brushes you can either use regular shampoo, baby shampoo, or a makeup brush cleaner. I’ve used both methods and don’t really have a preference.

Whichever method you choose, put a little cleaner in your hand, wet your brush, and swish it around in your palm. Rinse and repeat. Rinse again. Squeeze out any excess water and let your brushes air dry overnight. Voila!

The brush cleaner I use is Sephora Collection Purifying Brush Shampoo. I also use it to clean my Beauty Blender (see post about the BB here), but should you wish, you can purchase the Beauty Blender Solid Sponge Cleaner.

9 Responses to “Washing Your Makeup Brushes”

  1. Samantha Cherry January 13, 2014 at 4:59 PM #

    I am so glad that you posted this! I have not done this because I didn’t know how.. You rock sweet child 🙂

    • erika January 13, 2014 at 7:57 PM #

      Thanks! Glad you like!! 🙂

  2. aclayman702 January 13, 2014 at 5:33 PM #

    I have the MAC brush cleaner but never washed my brushes because I wasn’t sure exactly how to do it. I’m so glad you posted this, such a great (and essential) thing to know!!

    xox Alie

    • erika January 13, 2014 at 7:57 PM #

      Be sure to let me know what you think of the MAC brush cleaner!

  3. aclayman702 January 13, 2014 at 5:35 PM #

    Reblogged this on The World As I See It and commented:
    This is such an essential thing to know! I purchased the MAC brush cleaner about a month ago, but never knew how to really use it so I had been putting it off. I’m sure I’m not the only one who was a little confused! I’ll post my own review on the MAC brush cleaner once I have washed my own brushes and actually use it haha

    xox Alie

  4. best way to boost testosterone September 6, 2014 at 10:48 PM #

    If some one wishes to be updated with hottest technologies
    after that he must be pay a quick visit this site and be up to
    date everyday.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Use Your Touche Eclat | Sweet Child In The City - May 13, 2014

    […] TIP #2: Same as a makeup brush, the Touche Eclat tip should be regularly cleaned to avoid a build-up of old makeup, etc. Make sure you ladies are cleaning your makeup brushes regularly…so important! For tips on cleaning your brushes, see my post here. […]

  2. How Long Does Your Makeup REALLY Last? | Sweet Child In The City - July 28, 2014

    […] Best TIP of the day: Don’t forget to wash your makeup brushes! The number of ladies who don’t do this astounds me (and makes me a little nauseas inside…). To see my post on how to wash your brushes, click here. […]

  3. How-To: Clean Your Hair Tools | Sweet Child In The City - March 15, 2016

    […] of my most viewed posts on my blog is one I did a couple years ago about cleaning your makeup brushes. I had no idea so many of you DIDN’T! Such a must ladies – those brushes are a breeding […]

Leave a Reply

