Chicken Wrap with Blueberry-Avocado Salsa

22 Jan

I made this last night for dinner…so delish!!! I found the original recipe in a SELF magazine awhile back and altered it to fit my taste. The recipe originally calls to use shrimp and corn tacos, however I prefer chicken and a whole-wheat wrap.

Chicken Wrap with Blueberry-Avocado Salsa

In a bowl, combine 1 tsp. garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. cumin, 1/4 tsp. chili powder, 1/4 tsp. paprika, and 1 tsp. fresh lime juice. Rub this powder mixture over both sides of a chicken breast and cut into slices. In a medium skillet over medium heat, sauté chicken slices in 1 tsp. olive oil until cooked through. In a bowl, combine 1/4 chopped avocado, 1/2 cup chopped and lightly mashed blueberries, 1 tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro, 1 tsp. fresh lime juice, and a dash of salt and pepper. Spread 1 tbsp. non-fat plain Greek yogurt on a large whole-wheat wrap. Add chicken and blueberry-avocado salsa to the wrap, and fold up end. Roll the wrap up and enjoy!

This recipe makes enough for 1 wrap.

photo (8)

I love this light meal because it is a healthy alternative to tacos! Just remember to eat with a side of veggies to ensure it is a well-rounded meal.

To compliment this Mexican-inspired dish, I also added a peperoncini pepper on the side – my fave!

photo (9)

One Response to “Chicken Wrap with Blueberry-Avocado Salsa”

  1. candies & crunches January 23, 2014 at 11:07 AM #

    Hmmm… I’ve never thought of putting blueberry and avocado together. EVER! Now I’m asking myself why because I’m super addicted to both. Thanks for sharing!

    xoxo
    Olena

Leave a Reply

