7 Tips to Get Your Butt Out of Bed

25 Feb

I am not a morning person. I repeat – I looooove my sleep. I treat it like an Olympic sport. I take back all those times I didn’t want to nap when I was a child. So if you are looking for a blog post on how to become a morning person, look elsewhere. Here, I will just be sharing my cruel, cruel tricks to get my a*s outta bed at an unGodly hour. (note: UnGodly hours are anything before 11am).

I have a job that starts at 9am. Without an alarm clock, I would never wake up before 11. So how on earth do I manage to make it to work on-time? I really do not know to this day, but  I do have a few tricks up my sleeve that help me keep my day job.

1. It’s a cruel joke – put your second alarm clock across your room, forcing yourself to have to get out of bed to turn it off. And don’t just set the alarm to the radio – that would be cheating! You will only get up to BEEP BEEP BEEP…you know that dreadful sound I’m talking about.

2. Sleep in warm PJ’s. You are way more inclined to get out of bed if you are warm. 

3. Set your coffee maker’s alarm clock. A hot cup of coffee waiting for you on the other side is all the more reason to let your feet hit the floor! Plus…the smell!

4. Make it a routine! If you are letting yourself sleep until noon on weekends and then trying to get up at 6am weekdays, you are making your own living hell..

5. Set multiple alarms. You know what they say – 3rd times the charm. By giving yourself a pre-wakeup call, you are giving yourself a chance to mentally prepare your exit from bed.

Remember to give yourself time to put yourself together:

6. Drink a glass of water when you wake up. We are all a little H2O dry when waking up, so replenishing your body will help it get going! 

7. I know it’s the trick of the trade you already know. Common sense at it’s finest. But seriously – go to bed earlier! 10:30pm at the latest is my rule if I want to be refreshed the next morning. And stay tuned – how to get to bed at a decent hour will be a blog post in the near future.

Bottom line though – if it comes down to spending time on my appearance or sleeping for 15 more minutes, sleeping always wins.

Leave a Reply

