A Few of my Favourite Quotes…

15 Mar

On Life

“A ship in harbour is safe, but that’s not what ships are for.” – William G. T. Shedd

“You is kind. You is strong. You is important.” – Kathryn Stockett in ‘The Help’

“Every experience, no matter how bad it seems, holds within it a blessing of some kind. The goal is to find it.” – Buddha

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.” – Marilyn Monroe

“Only when the last tree has died, and the last river been poisoned, and the last fish been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.” – Cree Indian Prophecy

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.”― Oscar Wilde

“Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, ‘What are you doing for others?” ― Martin Luther King Jr.

On Happiness

“The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears, or the ocean.” – Isak Dinesen

“Nobody really cares if you’re miserable, so you might as well be happy.” – Anonymous

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment and I told them they didn’t understand life.” – John Lennon

“I have an everyday religion that works for me. Love yourself first, and everything else falls into line.” – Lucille Ball

On Faith

“Every evening I turn my worries over to God. He’s going to be up all night anyway.” – Mary C. Crowley

On Love

“I’m selfish, impatient, a little insecure. I make mistakes, I’m out of control, and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.” – Marilyn Monroe

“We are all a little weird, and life’s a little weird. And when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love.” – Dr. Suess

“Maybe some women aren’t meant to be tamed. Maybe they just need to run free till they find someone just as wild to run with them.” – Sex & The City

On Work

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” ― Confucius

“A career is wonderful, but you can’t curl up with it on a cold night.” – Marilyn Monroe

“Hustle until you no longer have to introduce yourself.” – Unknown

On Fashion

“I like my money right where I can see it… Hanging in my closet.” – Carrie Bradshaw in ‘Sex & The City’

“Give a girl the right shoes, and she can conquer the world.” – Marilyn Monroe

On Travel

“Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.” – Unknown

2 Responses to “A Few of my Favourite Quotes…”

  1. Laura March 15, 2014 at 10:06 AM #

    Love these!

  2. Alexandra March 17, 2014 at 11:44 PM #

    Love the “cure for anything” and “realize we cannot eat money” Great quotes and great post.. thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

