Protein Powder Breakfast Muffins

18 Jun

Who else runs late every morning? (insert lots of raised hands here). I’m sure I am not alone. They say breakfast is the most important meal of the day, yet I find myself either skipping it or stopping for a greasy, fat-filled muffin from the local coffee shop most mornings. Not a good way to start the day!!

I have decided to change my morning habit…no, I will not be getting up any earlier. I’m a realist. That is just not happening. I will never press snooze no less than 8 times every morning. No instead I am preparing for those mornings when I run late by making a healthy, easy-grab-and-go breakfast option. I introduce to you….protein powder breakfast muffins!

I have scoured the internet for good protein powder muffin recipes that did not include crazy ingredients I would have to go out and buy (flours I have never heard of, etc.). I found these High Protein Blueberry Muffins via Sarah Fit, and made a few of my own alterations. They are low in carbs (only use steel cut oats), high in protein (hello protein powder!), and low in sugar (only uses half a banana and a few blueberries per serving).

Untitled

Protein Powder Breakfast Muffins w/ Blueberries & Banana

*This recipe makes 4 large muffins.

Ingredients

  • 1 Banana, Sliced
  • 2 Scoops Whey Protein Powder
  • 2 tbsp. Flaxseed Meal
  • 2 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 2 Egg Whites (Or 6 tbsp. of Egg Whites)
  • 6 tbsp. Steel Cut Oats (Already Cooked)
  • 1 tsp. of Baking Soda
  • 4 tbsp. Blueberries (Fresh or Frozen)

Directions

Preheat over to 350 degrees. Combine the protein powder, flaxseed, cinnamon, and baking soda.  Mix thoroughly with a spoon.  Next, add in the banana, oatmeal and egg whites.  Mix with a blender or really well with a spoon until it becomes a smooth like consistency. Spray a muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray or line muffin tins with paper cups. Spoon the batter into the muffin tins, filling to the top (these muffins do not rise very much). Add the blueberries on top. Place in the oven for 30 mins., then stick a fork into the top. If the fork comes out clean, the muffins are done. If not, keep in the oven for another 10 mins.

Nutrition (1 Large Muffin): 241 Calories, 4 g of Fat, 7.5 g of Fiber, 23.4 g of Protein

The muffins are pretty filling on their own, but you can add a piece of fruit or a tbsp. of peanut butter if you wish! If you like them a little less-dry, you could also add some almond milk to the recipe. Enjoy!

One Response to “Protein Powder Breakfast Muffins”

  1. Lisa Macy Coaching June 19, 2014 at 11:11 AM #

    Sounds tasty to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

