Your Beauty Must-Have: Sunscreen

19 Jun

Want to look like a troll when you are 60? Great! Leave the sunscreen at home!

For the rest of us, your #1 beauty must-have should be sunscreen. And I don’t just mean in the dead of summer. Year-round, ladies, year-round! The sun doesn’t just disappear in the winter. Unfortunately it is still reeking havoc on our un-protected faces!

I have three different sunscreens in my medicine cabinet:

1. Face Specific Sunscreen

I love Neutrogena’s Ultra Sheer Face Sunscreen SPF 45. My Mom has always had it on hand since I can remember, and it has never made me breakout. It is fairly sheer, but with any sunscreen you are going to get a little bit of sheen. That is just a given. I will sometimes use some setting powder to try and counter-act the shiny effects.

2. Body Specific Sunscreen

Neutrogena Beach Defense SPF 30 Body (Lotion) is a waterproof, sweatproof sunscreen and is my go-to whenever I know I will be outside with any part of my body exposed for longer than the 15 mins. it takes me to walk to work. This is a fairly inexpensive option (I prefer to spend more on the face specific sunscreen), and does contain adequate UVA (think anti-aging!) protection – I have checked.

3. Easy-to-Reapply Option

Spray sunscreens are not recommended by “the experts” as they don’t always go on evenly, it takes a lot of sunscreen to provide adequate protection, and most contain a high amount of alcohol which can be irritating to skin. Much of the product sprayed usually doesn’t end up on you either! This aside, the spray option is super easy for reapplying throughout the day – whether you are outside by the pool working on your tan, or spending a day at the park or on the trails. My go-to spray option is Aveeno Active Naturals Hydro Sport Sunscreen Spray SPF 30 (say that 10 times fast!). This one sets the competition apart because it can be put on skin when it is wet, and still do it’s job.

What to look for in a sunscreen:

  • An SPF rating of 30 or higher
  • An SPF rating that is lower than 60 (anything higher contains too much actives to reach that SPF level and increases change of skin irritation)
  • Waterproof and sweatproof
  • “Broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection” on the label
  • For face, look for “non-comedogenic” and “oil-free” on the label

Sunscreens to avoid:

  • Anything by Coppertone or Banana Boat. Most of their formulas contain over 60% alcohol which is totally damaging and dehydrating to skin!
  • Any tanning oil – do I even need to explain?
Leave a Reply

