Let’s Face It

24 Jul

Face it:

You will wear your face and skin everyday for the rest of your lives. I know we all like to splurge on that designer dress, pumps, and new handbag, but ladies…we cannot skimp on our skin.

Now, I don’t go out and by ridiculously overpriced beauty products, but I do budget enough to buy a good quality product with added benefits. With so many options out there, I want to be sure I am getting what I need and the best bang for my buck.

I have trusted and used Paula Beguin, author of Don’t Go to the Cosmetics Counter Without Me, for years. Her website is my source for the best of the best: http://www.paulaschoice.com/international. She reviews hundreds of brands and thousands of products, and I have found her advice to be on point.

They say the ideal beauty routine goes something like this:

Morning:

1. Wash Face

2. Apply serum (let absorb)

3. Treatment (if applicable)

4. Moisturize

5. SPF

Night:

1. Wash Face

2. Exfoliate

3. Apply serum

4. Apply treatment

5. Moisturize

Here is what my daily routine looks like:

Morning

I wash my face morning and night with Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Milk or Cereve Hydrating Foaming Cleanser. Both are gentle but strong enough to ensure all face makeup comes off. I also like to use my Clarisonic a couple times a week. If you don’t have one I really recommend you get one if it is in your budget! It is a gentle and effective way to exfoliate, which keeps skin looking fresh and young!

I am a freak about aging, (or lack thereof.) As Emily Maynard says, I will be living under a bridge wrinkle-free one day! Clinique makes a great serum called Turnaround Concentrate Radiance Renewer  that exfoliates your skin and renews over time. It really makes my skin so soft! On top of that I use Olay Total Effects 7-in-1 Fragrance Free Moisturiser with SPF 15. Surprisingly this product got a lot better reviews than luxury brand moisturisers! It can also be found at most local drugstores :). And of course, it has sunscreen – a MUST for during the day. If I know I will be out in the sun for an extended period of time, I will also apply a facial sunscreen for added protection. My favourite is Neutrogena Ultra-Sheer Dry Touch SPF 45, which doesn’t leave me with that icky greasy feeling.

Night

In the evening I wash my face again and use Kate Sommerville Quench Hydrating Face Serum. A little goes a long way with this serum! It is very light and ensures your skin has all the anti-oxidants and nutrients it needs while adding moisture. It was love at first use for me. Since it includes retinol, it should be used in the evening for best results.

I then apply a prescription gel cream with retinol from my dermatologist. I have never had issue with acne, but this gel just ensures any unwanted friends on my face are kept at bay. It is also a retinoid, which helps to keep wrinkles away as well.

My night moisturiser is Neotrogena Healthy Skin Anti-Wrinkle Cream Night. If you aren’t using a retinoid product yet, you really need to start…like yesterday! Retinol is the most common product to prevent aging. This particular moisturiser includes retinol and at around $20, doesn’t break the bank! If a retinoid moisturizer is too drying for your skin (as this one is for me sometimes in the winter months), I like Cereve Facial Moisturizing Lotion PM. Paula Beguin said in her review that this moisturizer is the best at it’s price level and is just a really good all-around simple moisturizer.

 

What products do you use? What is your daily skin routine like?

Leave a Reply

