Did You Forget About Lil Ole Me?

19 Jan

I am not six feet under. Hallelujah! Nope, just had a bad case of the its-the-holidays-and-I’m-really-busy-but-now-it’s-January-and-I-am-only-slowly-acting-like-everyday-is-not-Monday. And isn’t it fitting that Monday is my first day back blogging since November 7. NOVEMBER 7TH. I’m sorry, y’all.

It made me happy though that I received MORE than a few messages over the break about blogging again. I have some loyal followers 🙂

I’ll start off with my New Years Resolutions…better late than never, right?

Sweet Child In The City’s New Years Resolutions

Well for starters…

But in all reality I am a big believer in having goals that are affirmative and concise, are quantifiable and specific, are present tense (not “I will save” but “I save”), and have a target date. As a past employee of Lululemon, I will apply the six core values I learned while my time with the brand: possibility, vision, balance, audacity, format, and integrity. These values aren’t just nice words – they actually really do have meaning for each and every goal. Goals need to be attainable but not too easy, they need to be realistic for your lifestyle, they need to be have a timeline or timeline(s) that keep you accountable and motivated, and last but not least they need to be specific. Lose weight is not specific! Lose 10 lbs. by June 2015 by going to the gym three times a week for an hour is a lot more specific.

I have also separated my goals by time of year – all year-round, winter/spring, and summer/fall.

All-Year Round Goals

1. I’ll start off with the absolutely most typical resolution – I hit the gym for an hour 5 days a week through the winter/spring months. I don’t have a weight loss goal, but just want to “tone up”.

2. I visit two continents in 2015. I have already booked a trip to South America for May 2015, and plan on visiting Europe at the end of the year. I want to see the world and planning to hit two continents a year would be an amazing goal to keep up!

3. I drink only 1 cup of coffee per day. This is a biggie for me. My body actually functions on caffeine so this could be interesting…I will drink green tea when in doubt!

Winter/Spring Goals

4. I write my GMAT test by June 2015. I am giving myself 5 months to study for and write the GMATs. This is something I want in my back pocket in case I plan to pursue my MBA in the next few years. Further to this goal, I plan to set aside time 3 days/week to study, and have even gotten myself a card for the library down the road already – baby steps 🙂

Summer/Fall Goals

5. I run a half marathon in the summer/fall. I have yet to look up half marathon races so this goal should be a lot more specific. By booking the race now, I hold myself accountable to this goal. BUT, like I said, I am really just getting into the swing of January so cut me a little slack here 🙂

6. I finish P90x in 90 days from September 2015 through November 2015. This is something I have attemped before (and a good attempt at that!), but really want to commit to this year. Having a fitness goal in the fall makes sense for me.

7. I visit one of my best friends in Austin, Texas, and book the trip in early fall. Pretty self-explanatory.

8. I play organized women’s hockey starting in the fall. This is something I used to do and have totally gotten away from. And I miss it! I just haven’t been motivated or found the time to sign up come August every year, and this year that is changing.

Those are my set-in-stone specific goals that I WILL achieve. My other goals around saving more money, volunteering, learning a new language, etc. are still important to me, but I don’t want to take on too much.

What are some of your new years resolutions? How are you planning to achieve them?

Leave a Reply

