Refresh Your Makeup Drawer

20 Jan

We’ve all been there – a makeup rut. Whether it’s the change in season, not having the right products to begin with, or you just feel the need to change it up, here are some tips to rejuvenate your routine!

Lackluster-Looking Skin

Hourglass-Dim-Light

Especially during the winter months our skin can get dehydrated and loose its luster. My favourite product to add to my routine in the winter during these times is Hourglass Ambient Powder in Dim Light or Luminous Light. These powders are described as “A universal finishing powder that features state-of-the-art technology to recreate the most exquisitely flattering types of light.” I don’t know about technology, but I can tell you these products will leave your skin with a subtle glow in all the right places. You can use the Dim Light version all over to blur imperfections, and use the Luminous Light version where you would normally use a highlight – high cheekbones, middle of the nose, and cupid’s bow.

Clumpy Mascara

IMG_0487

There is nothing worse than clumpy mascara. All mascaras will eventually get old, dried up, and clumpy, but you should be able to get a couple months out of a tube before that happens. If you have used your mascara for more than 3 months, toss it. If your new mascara is clumpy it may be time to look at a new one. A few of my personal faves include Urban Decay Perversion Mascara, Benefit Cosmetics BADgal Lash Mascara, and, if you don’t mind spending a few extra bucks, the Giorgio Armani Eyes To Kill Excess Mascara. And if you do mind spending the extra bucks on a new tube, I’ve seen other posts about adding some eye drops to a dried up mascara tube to bring it back to life.

Lack of a Tan

download

I loooooove self tanner. To the point that I am backpacking to Peru in May and absolutely will sacrifice space in my backpack for a tube of self tanner long before I take something I really need…like a pillow. I would sacrifice my beauty sleep for self tanner. That is just how much I love it.

All that aside, if you want a little colour in the dead of winter – meet your new best friend named Vita Liberata!They make an incredible mousse tanner, that when applied correctly, will give you that natural colour without looking like you just got back from the Bahamas for 6 months. Fake it ’till you make it, ladies.

Dry Lips

images L-0061X-2T

The winter can wreak havoc on lips and make them dry and cracked. There are obvious ways to avoid this (exfoliate and moisturize) but if the inevitable strikes there are at least ways to combat it. A lip primer will always smooth any cracks and flakiness over so your lipstick will go on smoother and last longer. I will also add a lipliner and some highlighter to my cupid’s bow if I really want to perk up the look of my lips. Finally, you can play around with using two lipsticks or a lipstick and gloss to create the illusion of better lips. I like using Mac’s lipliner in Sublime Culture with their lipstick Pink Pearl Pop, topped off with Politely Pink in the centre. The. Perfect. Pout.

Washed Out Look

B0031NNE56_angle browiz-pencil

Sometimes doing something as simple as adding liquid vs. pencil eyeliner or filling your eyebrows can add that touch of boldness you are craving. I adore Stila’s Stay All Day Liquid Eyeliner in black for a played up look at night and Anastasia Beverly Hills Perfect Brow Pencil to darken and bring out my naturally light brows.

Dull and Dry Skin

spd_2012061022837_b

My skin in the winter acts like it hasn’t had a drop of moisture in months! And of course that is simply not the truth. But you can’t put a matte foundation on dry skin without looking a little sick. So I combat the issue with a radiant foundation in the winter…one with a sheen, a glow, whatever word you would like to use. My favourite is Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation, and I’m sure if you asked most makeup artists out there, this would be their fave as well. It is incredible silky and smooth like. If you want something a little cheaper, Estee Lauder is my go-to. She makes a Perfectionist Youth Infusing Foundation that brings out the glow in you.

 

And who said you have to be a natural beauty year round?

images (1)

Leave a Reply

