DIY: Wooden Coffee Table

6 Jun

20160606_180525

I am officially adding carpenter to my resume!

I wanted a new coffee table that would add some character to my living room and tie everything together. My couch is a deep grey so I wanted to brighten the room up with white and add a rustic feel with wood. I must have searched for 10 hours online to try and find what I pictured in my mind, to no avail (or at least for a reasonable price). So I did what any girl who knows what she wants does – do it myself!

I found a plain white coffee table at Ikea that was the shape I was looking for and had a wooden base to start.

hemnes-coffee-table-white__0104032_PE250683_S4

I then decided to add a wooden top to it to get that country-inspired reclaimed wood feel, which I stained a weathered grey to match my décor. Here is the final result!

20160522_134647

I was a little worried how it would turn out since I officially have ZERO experience with tools, paint, wood, or anything of the like, but alas it was a mission accomplished :). I’m thrilled with the result (and a little proud too!)

If you’re looking to create something similar, here is an overview of what I did and used.

I went to Lowe’s and got 4 pieces of 1x2x8inch and 4 pieces of 1x4x8inch select pine, 1.25inch brad nails, wood glue, sand paper for my sander, a can of stain by Verathane in weathered grey, and some foam tipped paint brushes. The tools I used were a saw, miter box, sander, and hammer.

I started by placing the wood in the order in the photo below, and then cut each piece to the exact length of the table.

20160522_113621

20160522_103309-1

Before I went to glue each piece down I checked the wood to make sure the best side was facing up. I then traced a straight line down the wood in the three places where I wanted to put my nails in. This ensures that when you go to nail you do so in a straight line. I put one line down the middle of the table and 1 on either end about 2 inches in. I decided to nail through the top as I don’t mind the look, but you can nail from underneath if you don’t want the nails to show.

20160522_115109

I then glued and nailed each piece down one at a time. You really want to make sure you squeeze the wood as tight as you can to the next piece when you nail so there aren’t any spaces between the wood.

20160522_120224

Next I sanded down the top and sides to get a smoother surface (no slivers here!) and to smooth out any unevenness in the wood.

20160522_121802

Then come the sides. I measured 2 pieces of the 1x2inch wood to the exact length of the side of the table, and glued and nailed those ones on. Then I did the same thing with the last 2 pieces on the longer sides. I then sanded down those sides, especially the corners. You can see how I put the sides on, but you could also use a miter box to cut the corners at 45 degree angles if you wanted a different look.

20160522_124848

The comes time to stain! Once you are happy with the level of smoothness of your table, make sure there isn’t any dust left from sanding. I then painted on 1 layer of stain. I went section by section and used a rag to wipe off the stain as I went to get that weathered look. If you don’t wipe off the top layer of stain after you apply, it will look more like grey paint. I only ended up doing 1 layer of stain and going back and fixing a few areas where I wanted to even it out, but you could do a second layer depending on how dark you want it.

20160606_180557

And voila! A brand new table 🙂 I loved it so much I did my TV stand too!

PS…thanks to Centsational Girl for her tips and tricks on making this table.

20160606_180536

 

One Response to “DIY: Wooden Coffee Table”

  1. Musings For Ausana June 8, 2016 at 2:13 PM #

    Awesome job!

Leave a Reply

